Josh Brown

Industry Chair / Partner Indianapolis


Josh is chair of Taft’s Franchise and Distribution group. He combines his legal experience, business background, and entrepreneurial skills to help clients grow their businesses with a particular focus on franchising and other licensing opportunities. He is passionate about helping entrepreneurs make smart franchise decisions and prepare for growth and expansion. Josh counsels franchisors through legal challenges and helps identify and pursue potential franchise opportunities.

In between private practice, Josh was a law clerk for the Honorable Nancy H. Vaidik of the Indiana Court of Appeals. Prior to that, Josh worked in business management, sales, marketing, and operations for several businesses, including two franchise systems. Clients partner with Josh because he understands the industry and the challenges with starting, managing, and growing a small business.

Josh is the creator and host of Franchise Euphoria, a top-rated podcast, and a frequent author and presenter on topics related to franchising. When not working, he enjoys spending time with his family, traveling, and playing golf.


  • Honoree, Franchise Legal Eagle (2014 – 2020, 2022 – 2024); Member, Hall of Fame (2024)

  • Honoree, Indiana Super Lawyers (2018 – present)

  • Honoree, Indiana Super Lawyers Rising Stars (2010, 2014 – 2017)

  • Recipient, President’s Award for Service to the Association, Indianapolis Bar Association (2019)

  • Recipient, Dr. John Morton Finney, Jr. Award for Excellence in Legal Education

All Service Areas


  • Valparaiso University School of Law (2006)
  • Indiana University (1998)


  • State - Indiana
  • Federal - Northern District of Indiana
  • Federal - Southern District of Indiana
  • Federal - 7th Circuit Court of Appeals
  • Federal - U.S. Supreme Court

Speeches and Publications

Professional Affiliations

  • Indiana Innovation Committee

    Member, Technology Working Group (2020-Present)

  • Indiana Bar Association

    Past Board Member (2018-2020)
    Past Vice President (2018-2019)
    Past Member, Leadership Group (2020)

Community Involvement

  • College Mentors for Kids

    Past Board Member (2020)
    Past Board Chairman and Executive Committee Member (2015-2019)